image

I wanted to do something festive for the holidays, so I decided to layer my tiny Sally Girl confetti over black. It turned out great!

image

I never layered this confetti over such a contrasting color before, so I never noticed that the pieces were mainly teal and hot pink. It took me right back to 5th grade when I was obsessed with teal, hot pink, and black. They were THE colors of the year. I was going through a Punky Brewster phase, so I layered skinny belts and hair ties and bandanas all over my clothes, all in these three colors. Yup. I was a true fashionista back then. In my head.

image

The photo above is just one coat. I ended up doing three coats to get the effect I wanted.
Ever since, between falling into 5th grade nostalgia, I keep looking at my nails and thinking, “It’s a party!” Which then gets that 50s so ng stuck in my head, “It’s my party and I’ll cry if I want to, cry if I want to….”

image

Here is the base black before the confetti was added.